Sahara Desert


The Sahara is a desert on the African mainland. With an area of 9,200,000 square kilometers, it is the biggest hot desert on the planet and the third-biggest desert in general, more modest in size than the deserts of Antarctica and the northern Arctic.

The desert contains a lot of North Africa, barring the ripe locale on the Mediterranean Ocean coast, the Chartreuse Heaps of the Maghreb, and the Nile Valley in Egypt and the Sudan. It extends from the Red Ocean in the east and the Mediterranean in the north to the Atlantic Sea in the west, where the scene progressively changes from desert to waterfront fields. Toward the south, it is limited by the Sahel, a belt of semi-dry tropical savanna around the Niger Waterway valley and the Sudan district of sub-Saharan Africa. The Sahara can be divided into a few locales, including the western Sahara, the focal Ahaggar Mountains, the Tibesti Mountains, the Ar Mountains, the Ténéré Desert, and the Libyan Desert.

For a few hundred thousand years, the Sahara has switched back and forth between desert and savanna meadow in a 20,000-year cycle brought about by the precession of Earth’s pivot as it turns.

Leave a Comment