Home » Franklin County primaries set | News, Sports, Jobs – The Adirondack Daily Enterprise

Franklin County primaries set | News, Sports, Jobs – The Adirondack Daily Enterprise

by Arifa Rana

Apr 15, 2022
MALONE — Petition papers have been turned in to the Franklin County Board of Elections for the June primary.
Contested primary races on the June 28 ballot include Franklin County sheriff and one district seat in the county Legislature. Multiple Republicans are running in both races.
The primary for county sheriff pits incumbent Sheriff Kevin Mulverhill, a Republican, against Jay Cook, who is running as a Republican and a Conservative.
Republican Paul A. Maroun is running for reelection as a Republican and Conservative against Nedd Sparks on the Republican line for Legislative District 6.
Only one candidate has filed petition papers for State Senate District 50, Assemblyman Mark C. Walczyk, R-Watertown.
Formerly part of Senate District 45, represented by Daniel G. Stec, R-Queensbury, Franklin County has been redistricted to be part of the district represented by Patricia A. Ritchie, R-Heuvelton, who will retire at the end of her term this year.
Two candidates filed for the 115th Assembly District. No primary is slated. Assemblyman D. Billy Jones, D-Chateaugay Lake, is running for reelection as a Democrat, while Stephen Chilton III, of Ellenburg, is running on the Republican and Conservative lines.
The Franklin County district attorney race will be decided by the general election in November, with Elizabeth Crawford running as on the Republican and Conservative lines and acting District Attorney Jonathan Miller will running as a Democrat to retain his position on a full-time basis.
Miller was appointed to fill out the term of Craig P. Carriero, who defeated Crawford in November 2021 to replace Judge Robert G. Main Jr. in Franklin County Court.
The County Legislative District 5 seat is also up for election, with incumbent Democrat Donald Dabiew set to challenge Justus Martin, a Republican and Conservative candidate, in November.
In District 7, incumbent Democrat Lindy Ellis, and Leigh Wenske, a Republican and a Conservative, have returned petition papers.
Incumbents Democrats Paul A. Lauzon and Greg A. Janisewski are running for reelection in District 1 and District 2, respectively.
Incumbents Andrea M. Dumas and Edward Lockwood are running for another term representing District 3 and District 4, respectively, as Republican and Conservative candidates.
Democrat Brian S. Langdon and Republicans Ronald B. Keough and Myron Leonard Jr. are running for coroner.
Primary voting will take place June 28 and the general election will be held Nov. 8.
Today’s breaking news and more in your inbox
How do you get from place to place? The Essex County Transportation Department wants to know. The county …
New York’s $221 billion budget for the new fiscal year devotes billions of dollars to economic development and …
The governing boards of the Ausable River Association and the Adirondack Lake Survey Corporation are planning to …
LAKE PLACID — The Lake Placid-North Elba Land Use Code Committee has developed a set of maps that show how the …
Today’s breaking news and more in your inbox

Copyright © Adirondack Daily Enterprise | https://www.adirondackdailyenterprise.com | 54 Broadway, Saranac Lake, NY 12983 | 518-891-2600 | Ogden Newspapers | The Nutting Company


0 comment

Related Posts

Leave a Comment